Stacking the Shelves #2

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga for the book community to share what we’ve added to our TBR lists or bought this week. Go here to find out more!

As well as taking part in StS’s over at the Happy Homo Book Club, I thought it would be good to bring it over here as I always seem to have a lot of books added to my TBR list every week and it looks too crowded to add them in with everyone else’s! Especially as over the past 2 weeks I have added something like 15 books to my list, so now you can find my extended list here instead!


Purchased 

I usually don’t get to purchase too many books due to money, but this week I stumbled across both the Kindle 99p summer sale and the new Prime reading service which allows Prime readers to read certain books for free!

These are the books I purchased in the sale:

The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman // Postcards from the Edge by Carrie Fisher // Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher // Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

And the ones I have from Prime Reader:

Lumberjanes Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson // Introducing Postmodernism: A Graphic Guide // Ms Marvel: Vol. 1 by Wilson Alphonia


Netgalley

As some of you know, I’ve been trying to correct an early mistake I made on Netgalley of requesting too many non-fiction books with little fiction. As I tend to read non-fiction surprisingly slowly for someone whose almost completed a degree, I’m trying to request some more fiction on Netgalley with varying success as I seem to be getting rejected for a lot of books!

So far, I’ve been approved for:

16651594_10154976984491449_72596578_n

The Sum of Us Anthology

And I’ve also requested:

When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon // Queering Sexual Violence ed. by Jennifer Patterson // Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls // The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert


Goodreads

And lastly, most of my books are added to my very, very long Goodreads TBR shelves!!

The Inexplicable Logic of my Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz // Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer // An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir // Far From You by Tess Sharpe // 27 Hours by Tristina Wright // Dragon Teeth by Michael Crichton // A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee // If We Were Villains by M. L. Rio


So, as you can see, I am constantly fighting against my insatiable impulse to acquire books and I am hoping that this summer will be a productive one of actually reading some of these (in amongst all of the video games, films, conventions, dissertation….etc)! I do have 4 years of reading to catch up on though so that’s my excuse 😉

What did you all add to your reading lists this week? Have you read any of the books on my life, and what did you think of them??

aniel Morris

goodreads – twitter – instagram

3 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #2

  1. OMG I didn’t know Lumberjanes was on Prime Reader!! Thank you, I am getting it ASAP! I use Kindle Unlimited a lot – they’ve got a surprisingly good amount of diverse fiction 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

