The Greek Gods Book Tag

This book tag was created by Book Bum and I found it on allonsythornraxx’s blog!

RULES

  • Pingback to me here so I can read all you posts!
  • You can use these graphics if you like, but you don’t have to if you don’t want to.
  • Tag as many people as you want, but please, share the love.

Click on the book titles beneath the covers to got the Goodreads pages!


Zeus

ZEUS – King of the Gods: your favourite book

ootp-uk-kids-cover-artHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K Rowling

I debated about putting this as my favourite book, given my distancing from the HP Universe thanks to Rowling’s insistent ‘death of the author’ mission. However, even when I can remove myself from the rest of the universe, I still get such warm glowy feels from this book and can’t deny that it’s probably one of my favourite books.


Hera

HERA – Queen of the Gods: A badass female character

his20dark20materials
Lyra Belacqua – His Dark Materials

I think Lyra will always be my go to badass female character. Having read the books when I was about 15(ish) and being bullied a lot, I really saw a lot of myself in Lyra and felt reassured by the fact that there were other girls like me. Intelligent, stubborn, rebellious, quick-witted, rough, and loyal, Lyra is one of my favourite female characters of all time for precisely these reasons.


Janus

JANUS – God of Beginnings: Your favourite debut(s)

achillesThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

So… I’m gonna cheat a bit and use The Song of Achilles twice, because I left this one till last and still couldn’t think of anything else for it. However, considering how much I absolutely adore this book (see below) and given that Miller spent 10 YEARS writing this book, I am more than happy to yell about it at any and all opportunities.


Athena

ATHENA – Goddess of Wisdom: Your favourite non-fiction book

The Animal Estate by Harriet Ritvo // The Art of Studio Ghibli Collection

This was really hard. You would think that having gone to uni I would have tonnes of books lined up for my fave non-fiction book, but unfortunately, I didn’t actually get to read many books because I never had any time! However, I’ve read parts of Ritvo’s amazing Animal Estate for my dissertation and really enjoy contextualising modern human-animal relations historically. My other favourites are my beautiful collection of the ‘Art of Studio Ghibli’ books, of which I have a book for each of my favourite Ghibli films. I have Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke, Ponyo, My Neighbour Totoro and Nausicaa so far, and love pouring over the beautiful illustrations and concept designs in them.


Aphrodite

APHRODITE – Goddess of Love: A book you adore and recommend everyone read (other than your favourite book!)

achillesThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Without a doubt, I will probably always pick the Song of Achilles. It’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read and I literally find any excuse to recommend people to read it. It combines fantastical Greek mythology which follows Achilles as he grows from a boy to a man, and his heart-breaking relationship with his best friend Patroclus. I am completely obsessed with this book to the point where I even ended up naming my dog Achilles because of it.


Hades

HADES – God of the Underworld: An evil book you wish didn’t exist

50shadesofgreycoverart50 Shades of Grey by E.L James

I found this also really hard, an *evil* book feels like a bit of a strong turn of phrase and I personally haven’t read anything that I would regard as *evil* (with the exception of things like… Mein Kampf for obvious reasons). Something I *have* read though that I wish didn’t exist is definitely 50 shades. Having actual experience with the issues at hand, the way that E.L James represented BDSM is not only hilariously inaccurate but abusive, downright dangerous and wrapped up in a horrifically badly written package.


Poseidon

POSEIDON – God of the Sea & Earthquakes: A beautiful & ground-breaking book

The Colour Purple by Alice Walker // Black and British: A Forgotten History by David Olusoga

The Colour Purple is such a beautifully written book which has been ground-breaking in the world of literature, as well as race, gender and class more widely. For anyone who hasn’t yet read it (how?!), but it’s definitely one of those books you *have* to read. My second choice is an amazing history book I got for my birthday. Throughout the entire 4 years of my degree, I have been part of a contingent of students complaining about the erasure of black people from British history (which even if you don’t know much about, take one look at British film…). This is often “justified” with the excuse of “well, there’s not much historical data”, but thankfully Olusoga provides a beautifully written and ground-breaking compilation and analyses of black British history that you can now smack professors over the head with if they try that excuse again.


Apollo

APOLLO – God of the Arts: A beautiful book cover

25183221Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

This book started my adoration of cosmic, universy book covers but I love Ari & Dante’s one in particular as it also incorporates so much iconography from the book itself. Right from the get-go, we’re introduced to Ari and Dante’s worlds colliding and joining together under their shared heritage, and the beautiful cosmic sky. Whenever I see the picture of their truck on the cover, I’m immediately transported back to that world and feel the warmth in my heart.


Hypnos

HYPNOS – God of Sleep: A book so boring you almost fell asleep

The Moral Narratives of Hayao Miyazaki by Eric Reinders // Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Well, this was an easy choice. The Moral Narratives was the first ever ARC I got on netgalley and I was so, so excited to read it but I literally had to DNF it within a few chapters because it was so badly written and horrifyingly boring. I had a similar experience with Ready Player One but managed to endure it to the end because the book showed such potential, but in the end I found it incredibly boring, and quite frankly a bit of a middle-aged man’s w*nk over the 80’s.


Hermes

HERMES – Messenger of the Gods: A book you sped through

americangods2American Gods by Neil Gaiman

American Gods was my first (and so far only) Gaiman book, and boy what a book it was. I read it last year when I heard about the production of the tv series, as I always want to read the books first, and literally, could not put it down. Every spare moment I had, I would pick it up and when it was over I felt so empty inside. It usually takes me quite a while to read books I think I got done with this in about a week! Also how could I not pick this given the theme.


I’ve never tagged anyone in a book tag before, but I’d love to see what whattheloghastosay, romweasley, JessicaMarie493 and thebooksareeverywhere has to say for this!

aniel Morris
goodreads – twitter – instagram

 

One thought on “The Greek Gods Book Tag

Leave a Reply

