Monthly Wrap Up // June 2017

Welcome to my first ever monthly wrap up for June!

I had so many plans of all the blogging I would do over the summer, but unfortunately June turned out to be a not very fruitful month for blogging. I feel like being involved in not one but two blogs, as a blogging noob, was a bit of an ambitious project as I’ve found it quite difficult to manage posting content for both this blog and corralling the other 3 members of the Happy Homo Book Club every week. Not to mention trying to do this on top of desperately applying for jobs as my last student loan payment begins to drain away, write my dissertation, deal with everyday life, leaving the house every so often, coping with my depression & anxiety, and of course, trying to keep up with reading and gaming! *gasps for breath* But, it is what it is. I’ll use it as a learning experience and try to work around it for next month. So here’s what I *did* manage this month.


Books header

Juliet Takes a Breath – ★★★☆☆

My first and only review to date. It took me over 2 months to finish JTAB due to struggling with some of the content, but overall JTAB was an amazing YA book about the intersections of race, gender, queerness, feminism, coming out and coming of age.

The Girl of Ink and Stars – ★★★★☆

My partner bought me this as a present for finishing my exams in May. I loved the beautiful cover and maps inside the book, and following the journey of cartographer’s daughter Isabella Riosse as she ventures through the mysterious Forgotten Territories of her island in search of her missing friend. It didn’t take me long to get through this book and I loved every second of it.

Caraval – ★★★☆☆

Despite reading a few less than favourable reviews of Caraval, I was really excited to read it after I got it for my birthday in April. Whilst there were a few things in the book I didn’t enjoy (mostly the protags irritating sister who luckily isn’t in the book very much), I mostly loved delving into the mysterious world of Caraval.

Nimona – ★★★★★

I’ve wanted to read Nimona forever, and one of my best friends bought it for me for my birthday. It literally only took me a day or two to read it because I loved it so much. Quirky, hilarious and heart-warming, Nimona is something everyone should read!

The Miniaturist – ★★★★☆

I literally just got done reading this and LOVED it. I’m planning on writing a review for it super soon so I won’t say too much, but the twists and turns kept me guessing all the way to the last 40 pages.


Books header (1)

I’m trying to get better at catching up on movies and tv as I didn’t watch anything for the longest time. Whilst we can’t really afford to go to the cinema at the moment, we’re lucky enough have both netflix and amazon prime! So this is what we’ve been catching up on

The Colour Purple // The Walking Dead // The Dark Knight Rises // Storyville – Tokyo Girls (BBC documentary) // Sing! // Hotel for Dogs


Books header (2)

Dragon Age Inquisition – ★★★★★

After putting it down for two years, I FINALLY finished Dragon Age Inquisition a few days ago with a new character. I loved replaying the game with a new character and this time focused more on the actual story than finishing every tiny little side mission, and actually got to have the best romance with Dorian <3333 I’m so sad it’s over, after I’ve spent so long with the Inquisition characters and I’m gonna miss them so much. I have plans to go right back to Origins though and replay the games again, this time choosing to side with the templars, whilst I impatiently wait for the next game!!

Thanks to the Steam Sale we’ve also made a few small purchases of games we really wanted including Wolfenstein, Dragon Age Origins ultimate edition, The Sims 3 Into the Future, and Metro Last Light Redux.


 

Books header (3)

I haven’t been able to do as many articles as I had planned to this month, but hopefully you all have enjoyed the ones I have posted so far? What have you thought so far? Is there anything you would like to see me blogging more on?

Disney Values and Job Rejections

What I’m most excited about at E3 2017: EA conference

What I’m most excited about at E3 2017: Xbox conference

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag


What big things did I miss in June? What things did you enjoy or discover?

aniel Morris

goodreadstwitterinstagram

 

One thought on “Monthly Wrap Up // June 2017

Leave a Reply

